Commerz Real invests in the Elbtower

Commerz Real has acquired a 25% stake in the Elbtower high-rise development for its open-ended real estate fund Hausinvest. Construction of the mixed-use high-rise in Hamburg’s HafenCity, designed by David Chipperfield Architects, is scheduled to start at the beginning of 2023 and to be completed by the end of 2025. The excavation pit at Elbbrücken is currently under construction.

Three years before its completion, the pre-letting rate is already over 40% – more than 30% of the office space has already been let, and the international lifestyle brand Nobu Hospitality has also been confirmed as the hotel operator.

“It’s an absolute landmark property in an excellent location with outstanding architecture and construction,” says a delighted Henning Koch, CEO of Commerz Real. “Its exceptional position and significance for Hamburg’s urban development, the broad mix of types of use and the forward-looking sustainability concept have convinced us and are an enrichment for the fund portfolio.”

»It’s an absolute landmark property in an excellent location with outstanding architecture and construction.«

Henning KochChairman of the Board of Commerz Real

Commerz Real manages €35 billion

Commerz Real is a Commerzbank Group company. It has 50 years of market experience and manages around € 35 billion. It combines comprehensive asset management know-how and broad structuring expertise to offer its characteristic range of services consisting of asset-oriented fund products and individual financing solutions. The range of funds includes the open-ended real estate fund Hausinvest, the first private investor impact fund with a focus on tangible assets Klimavest, institutional investment products as well as entrepreneurial investments under the CFB Invest brand with tangible asset investments in the focus segments of renewable energies and real estate. As the Commerzbank Group’s leasing service provider, Commerz Real also offers needs-based equipment leasing concepts.

Partnership connection

“We are very pleased that we have been able to win Commerz Real, a financially strong and reliable investor with whom we have had a long partnership relationship, for our landmark project,” says Timo Herzberg, CEO of SIGNA Real Estate. “Our common goal is to successfully complete the Elbtower on schedule by the end of 2025 and to hold it for the long term.”

With the investment, the companies are expanding their strategic cooperation.  Commerz Real has had a 20% investment in 10 Galeria department stores which are Signa properties, since 2019.

An architectural and urban development icon

Visible from afar, the 245-metre-high Elbtower will be the eastern end of HafenCity and the prelude to Hamburg’s city entrance on the Norderelbe. The landmark project will meet the highest sustainability standards. For example, the Elbtower will be operated CO2-neutrally thanks to its intelligent energy concept. The Elbtower obtains the energy for heating and cooling its interior spaces from one of Hamburg’s largest wastewater systems as well as CO2-free certified district heating. The electricity for all its tenants is from exclusively renewable sources.

The publicly accessible ground floors will offer a variety of shops, restaurants, co-working spaces and cultural uses with their innovative floor plans. They will form a public space for Elbtower users and visitors. Office users, hotel guests, tourists and Hamburg residents alike will find an excellence that invites them to stay a little longer. Nobu Hospitality will open its first hotel and restaurant in Germany in the Elbtower. The tower itself offers the most modern, flexibly configurable office space, in which the working world of tomorrow will find a home. An incomparable view of the city opens up from the public viewing platform at a height of 225 metres.

Commerz Real investiert in den Elbtower

Einladender Eingang zur Commerz Real

Commerz Real hat für ihren offenen Immobilienfonds Hausinvest eine Beteiligung von 25 % an der Hochhausentwicklung Elbtower erworben. Der Baustart für das von David Chipperfield Architects entworfene Mixed-Use-Hochhaus in der Hamburger HafenCity ist für Anfang 2023 geplant, die Fertigstellung für Ende 2025. Aktuell wird die Baugrube an den Elbbrücken erstellt.

Bereits drei Jahre vor Fertigstellung liegt die Vorvermietungsquote bei über 40 % – mehr als 30 % der Büroflächen sind schon vermietet, der Hotelbetreiber steht mit der internationalen Lifestyle-Marke Nobu Hospitality ebenfalls fest.

„Eine absolute Landmark-Immobilie in exzellenter Lage mit herausragender Architektur und Bauweise“, freut sich Henning Koch, Vorstandsvorsitzender von Commerz Real. „Ihre Ausnahmestellung und Bedeutung für die Hamburger Stadtentwicklung, die breite Mischung der Nutzungsarten sowie das zukunftsweisende Nachhaltigkeitskonzept haben uns überzeugt und sind eine Bereicherung für das Fondsportfolio.“

»Eine absolute Landmark-Immobilie in exzellenter Lage mit herausragender Architektur und Bauweise.«

Henning KochVorstandsvorsitzender von Commerz Real

Commerz Real verwaltet 35 Mrd. €

Die Commerz Real ist ein Unternehmen der Commerzbank Gruppe und steht für 50 Jahre Markterfahrung und ein verwaltetes Volumen von rund 35 Milliarden Euro. Umfassendes Know-how im Assetmanagement und eine breite Strukturierungsexpertise verknüpft sie zu ihrer charakteristischen Leistungspalette aus sachwertorientierten Fondsprodukten und individuellen Finanzierungslösungen. Zum Fondsspektrum gehören der offene Immobilienfonds Hausinvest, der erste Privatanleger-Impactfonds mit Sachwertfokus Klimavest, institutionelle Anlageprodukte sowie unternehmerische Beteiligungen der Marke CFB Invest mit Sachwertinvestitionen in den Schwerpunktsegmenten regenerative Energien und Immobilien. Als Leasingdienstleister des Commerzbank-Konzerns bietet die Commerz Real zudem bedarfsgerechte Mobilienleasingkonzepte. 

Partnerschaftliche Verbindung 

„Wir freuen uns sehr, dass wir mit der Commerz Real einen kapitalstarken und verlässlichen Investor, mit dem wir schon lange partnerschaftlich verbunden sind, für unser Landmark-Projekt gewinnen konnten“, sagt Timo Herzberg, CEO von SIGNA Real Estate. „Unser gemeinsames Ziel ist es, den Elbtower planmäßig bis Ende 2025 erfolgreich fertigzustellen und langfristig zu halten.“

Mit der Beteiligung weiten die Unternehmen ihre strategische Zusammenarbeit aus: Bereits seit 2019 ist Commerz Real mit 20% in zehn Galeria-Warenhausimmobilien von SIGNA investiert.

Ein architektonisches und städtebauliches Highlight

Der weithin sichtbare 245 Meter hohe Elbtower wird zum östlichen Abschluss der HafenCity und bildet den Auftakt für den Stadteingang Hamburgs an der Norderelbe. Das Landmark Projekt wird höchsten Nachhaltigkeitsstandards entsprechen. So wird der Elbtower durch sein intelligentes Energiekonzept CO2-neutral betrieben. Aus einem der größten Abwasserkanäle der Stadt und CO2-frei zertifizierter Fernwärme gewinnt der Elbtower die Energie für die Heizung und Kühlung seiner Innenräume. Den Strom für alle seine Mieter bezieht der Elbtower aus ausschließlich regenerativen Quellen.

Die öffentlich zugänglichen Erdgeschosse werden mit ihren innovativen Grundrissen eine Vielfalt an Shops, Restaurants, Co-Working-Spaces und kulturellen Nutzungen bieten. Sie bilden damit einen öffentlichen Ort für die Elbtowernutzer:innen und die Besucher:innen. Hier finden Büronutzer:innen, Hotelgäste, Tourist:innen und

  Hamburger:innen eine hohe Aufenthaltsqualität vor, die zum Verweilen einlädt. Nobu Hospitality wird ihr deutschlandweit erstes Hotel und Restaurant im Elbtower eröffnen. Der Turm selbst bietet modernste, flexibel gestaltbare Büroflächen, in denen die Arbeitswelt von morgen ein Zuhause findet. Von der öffentlichen Aussichtsebene in 225 Metern Höhe eröffnet sich ein unvergleichlicher Blick über die Stadt.